Friday, April 28, 2017

Bittersweet by Sarina Bowen [Review]

 Bittersweet by Sarina Bowen
Bittersweet (True North #1) by Sarina Bowen
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: October 16, 2016

True North
1. Bittersweet - Paperback | Kindle
2. Steadfast
3. Keepsake

Sarina Bowen
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the orchard.

The last person Griffin Shipley expects to find stuck in a ditch on his Vermont country road is his ex-hookup. Five years ago they’d shared a couple of steamy nights together. But that was a lifetime ago.

At twenty-seven, Griff is now the accidental patriarch of his family farm. Even his enormous shoulders feel the strain of supporting his mother, three siblings and a dotty grandfather. He doesn’t have time for the sorority girl who’s shown up expecting to buy his harvest at half price.

Vermont was never in Audrey Kidder’s travel plans. Neither was Griff Shipley. But she needs a second chance with the restaurant conglomerate employing her. Okay—a fifth chance. And no self-righteous lumbersexual farmer will stand in her way.

They’re adversaries. They want entirely different things from life. Too bad their sexual chemistry is as hot as Audrey’s top secret enchilada sauce, and then some.
Thoughts on Bittersweet: Oh, my goodness! I liked Grumpy Griff. And horny Griff. And thoughtful Griff. Heck, I liked Griff in all his moods. But I especially liked how Audrey could crash through his shields and rile him up without even trying.

Honestly, as much as I liked Griff, the more we got to know Audrey, the more I liked how she kept trying even when she thought there was no way she could do anything right. Her quiet revelations about how she saw herself were oddly painful. It was made both worse and better by how she shrugged off how she'd been treated in her life. Just... ouch.

I liked Griff. I liked Audrey. I liked their wildfire romance. I didn't even mind how Audrey ran from goodbyes because I could see so clearly why she was doing it. On top of those two and their issues, I adored the background characters. From Jude's quiet strength as he battled his demons to Zach's blushes whenever sexy talk came up to Griff's extended family. They were fun and quirky and I can't wait to meet up with them again.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Angle of Truth by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 Angle of Truth by Lindsay Buroker
Angle of Truth (Sky Full of Stars #2) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: April 18, 2017

Sky Full of Stars
1. The Rogue Prince
2. Angle of TruthKindle
3. Stolen Legacy

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When Jelena Marchenko learns that her parents have incurred a huge debt due to her previous actions, she’s determined to find a way to pay it off. But running cargo doesn’t pay anything off quickly. She comes up with a scheme to turn herself and her eclectic crewmates into mercenaries, at least for long enough to make some money.

Unfortunately, Jelena has no interest in maiming, killing, or otherwise tormenting people, the typical things mercenaries are hired to do. She’s relieved when, with Prince Thorian’s help, she finds a mission that seems perfectly suited to her team: rescuing prisoners of war.

But what was supposed to be a quick way to earn money soon turns into something devastating and deadly. Caught between two sides in a war fueled by centuries of resentment, Jelena must choose between her needs and the needs of a planet. No matter which choice she makes, she risks her ship and the lives of her team. Does she truly have what it takes to be a mercenary?
Thoughts on Angle of Truth: MOAR JELENA AND THOR AND THE REST OF THE CREW! *cheers*

Now, I'm not sure Alisa and Leonidas are cheering over Jelena's antics the way I am. Because, you know, they're paying for those antics. Sure, sure, the Snapper was sort of in a tough spot when Jelena incurred the charges that put her in hot water with her folks, but fines are fines, amirite?

Anyway. Due to a previous unfortunate incident, Jelena (and crew) have to find a way to bring in some quick cash. Jelena--the woman who can't walk away from a person in need--decides the Snapper is going to try it's hand at mercenaring. Which is clearly a word. Her mercenary endeavors go just about as well as you'd imagine given she made a side trip to rescue animals being experimented on during her first cargo run as captain.

So, yeah. She and Thor and the others find themselves in something of a pickle. Jelena has to learn to harden her heart a bit while Thorian needs to ... uhh, unbend, maybe. The guy is kinda focused on following a path that doesn't seem to be doing his mental well being all that much good. Although, the fact he's sticking around with Jelena and the Snapper might be saying a lot.

I can hope, right?

I CAN HOPE!

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Deader Homes and Gardens by Angie Fox [Review]

 Deader Homes and Gardens by Angie Fox
Deader Homes and Gardens (Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries #4) by Angie Fox
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley for an honest review
Date read: October 9, 2016

Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries
1. Southern Spirits
1.5. A Ghostly Gift
2. A Skeleton in the Closet
2.5. Ghost of a Chance
3. The Haunted Heist
4. Deader Homes and GardensPaperback | Kindle

Angie Fox
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Southern belle Verity Long is back in business—as a ghost hunter. Now all she has to do is visit the town's creepiest mansion and exorcise a family of vengeful spirits. Piece of cake. After all, ghosts love her and need her...that is until she meets the ghosts of Rock Fall mansion. They'll do anything to keep their murderous secrets hidden within the cliff-side fortress—even if that means getting rid of one meddling ghost hunter.

With the entire town skeptical and scrutinizing her every move, Verity struggles to uncover the century-old mystery behind the house. And when she stumbles upon a very fresh, very dead body, she realizes there’s more to it than she ever imagined. With the help of her sexy cop boyfriend, Ellis, and her ghostly gangster sidekick, Frankie, she braves the overgrown gardens, the desolate family cemetery, and the haunted mansion that have been locked away for generations. But can Verity unearth the truth before she's the next one buried on the deadly grounds?
Thoughts on Deader Homes and Gardens: I'm pretty much digging this series. Verity is determined and spunky. Her ghosts are...well, they all have their quirks. Her main ghost is certainly not the most reliable at keeping her safe and sane, but he has a good heart under all his bluster. Also, he throws some darn good parties. You know, for a ghost.

Oh, and *thumbs up* on the hunky boyfriend. It pays to have a guy who isn't afraid to enter an abandoned house with you AND who knows a few tricks of the trade. Like how to properly shatter a window when one is in need of a hasty exit. Hypothetically.

So. Verity and her ghosts. She has an in with them, they aren't all as friendly as Frankie and his gang. This particular job puts Verity in the line of fire on more than one occasion, but she's not one to give up when there's a mystery to unravel.

Four books and a couple of short stories in and I'm thoroughly enjoying my time spent in Verity's world. She's still trying to find her footing with her sudden career change, but she's got enough determination to see her through. Let's see what the next adventure brings.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

The Rogue Prince by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 The Rogue Prince by Lindsay Buroker
The Rogue Prince (Sky Full of Stars #1) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: April 5, 2017

Sky Full of Stars
1. The Rogue Prince - Kindle
2. Angle of Truth
3. Stolen Legacy

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Starseer, pilot, and animal lover Jelena Marchenko wants to prove to her parents that she’s ready to captain her own freighter and help run the family business. When she finally talks them into getting a second ship and letting her fly it, it doesn’t faze her that the craft is decades old and looks like a turtle. This is the chance she’s craved for years.

But it’s not long before the opportunity to rescue mistreated lab animals lures her from her parentally approved cargo run and embroils her in a battle between warring corporations. To further complicate matters, her childhood friend Thorian, prince of the now defunct Sarellian Empire, is in trouble with Alliance law and needs her help.

Torn between her duty to her family and doing what she believes is honorable, Jelena is about to learn that right and wrong are never as simple as they appear and that following your heart can get you killed.
Thoughts on The Rogue Prince: I was ITCHING to find out what happened to Thorian after the events in Fallen Empire. I'm so pleased to find out. Well, pleased being relative, since Thor isn't in the best place mentally. I mean, he's not unhinged or anything, he'd just...doing stuff. You know. Stuff. Not so good stuff.

But that happens, right? I can't even say I completely blame him for doing what he's doing. I mean, look at the events that shaped a large portion of his formative years. They were messy and brutal and he lost EVERYTHING when the empire fell. Plus, his teachers seem to be using somewhat questionable teaching methods and that's never good.

But that's enough about Thor. Let's talk about Jelena. She's still obsessed with animals and she's determined to use what little freedom she's wrangled from her overprotective mom and cyborg step-dad to rescue a few poor souls. Which, uhh, ends up pretty much the way you'd expect any mission planned and executed by the daughter of Alisa Marchenko to end up. Which is to say with many close calls and possibly a few explosions.

GOOD TIMES!

We got to revisit a few old favorites (growly Leonidas is always a pleasure) and see just how well Alisa's sense of adventure has rubbed off on her daughter. *thumbs up*

Monday, April 24, 2017

Absolute Trust by Piper J. Drake [Review]

 Absolute Trust by Piper J. Drake
Absolute Trust (True Heroes #3) by Piper J. Drake
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: September 29, 2016

True Heroes
1. Extreme Honor
2. Ultimate Courage
3. Absolute TrustPaperback | Kindle

Piper J. Drake
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
LOVE IS THE GREATEST RISK OF ALL
After multiple tours of duty, Brandon Forte returns to his hometown on a personal mission: to open a facility for military service dogs like Haydn, a German shepherd who's seen his share of combat and loss. It also brings him back to Sophie Kim, a beacon of light in his life . . . and the one woman he can't have. But Forte's success means he's made enemies in high places. Enemies who are now after Sophie . . .

When Forte enlisted and left without saying goodbye, Sophie did her best to move on. But with her first love back in town, looking sexier than ever, she's constantly reminded of what they could have had. Then after he risks himself for her, Sophie realizes she'll have to put her life in the hands of the man who broke her heart, knowing the danger -and the sparks between them- could consume them both.
Thoughts on Absolute Trust: Sophie and Forte are finally forced to confront the thing everyone around them has seen since book 1. They might try to dance around it and say they're just friends, but...nope. They have some chemistry and a brush with danger puts it all out in the open.

And by "brush" I mean an explosion that endangers Sophie. Which, as you can imagine, puts Forte and the rest of the Hope's Crossing team on edge.

But nothing's easy when your heart is on the line and Sophie and Forte have a past. A PAST. The type of past that they try to ignore, but it sort of lingers between them. Dealing with their baggage is one of their roadblocks. You know, besides the whole "Sophie almost blew up" thing.

There's danger and 'splosions and sexy times and heartache and one cool cat. Or, well, a slightly agitated cat that calms down beautifully when she finds her human. Animals, man. They make me smile.

We get to revisit previous couples (as you'd expect given the couples in question live at Hope's Crossing) and see how they're faring. We get a dog who performs admirably despite his physical limitations. We get to finally see Sophie and Forte cross that self-proclaimed friendship line. *thumbs up*

Sunday, April 23, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (04/23/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Bout of Books 19

 Bout of Books
That's right, my little darlings, it's almost that time again! Time to get our read on with Bout of Books! *insert wild cheering here* And, you guessed it, I will be participating. Go forth and sign up on the Bout of Books blog! You won't regret it.

For those that don't know what Bout of Books is... here you go:
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 8th and runs through Sunday, May 14th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 19 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team
JOIN US! No, really. Join us. It's totally fun. WITH BOOKS! WHEEEEE!